The Hundred 2021 – Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan amongst names in newest Hundred participant retentions checklist

Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan and Jason Roy are among the many England males’s internationals who’ve been retained by their groups for this 12 months’s inaugural version of the Hundred, whereas Sunil Narine, Mohammad Amir, Lizelle Lee, Marizanne Kapp and Mignon du Preez have been confirmed for abroad participant slots.

The ECB has introduced one other batch of greater than 50 participant retentions for its new competitors, which was pushed again by the Covid-19 pandemic. The method for permitting males’s groups to determine whether or not they wish to maintain gamers chosen within the authentic draft in 2019 will run till February 4, after which there shall be a mini-draft to finish the squads.

All gamers within the girls’s competitors had beforehand been given the choice to roll over their contracts or negotiate with different groups.

ALSO READ: The Hundred – full 2021 squad lists

Bairstow will stay with Welsh Hearth, despite losing his place as the team’s centrally contracted Test player to Ollie Pope, where he is understood to have secured a top-band contract worth £100,000. He will play for the Cardiff-based team alongside fellow white-ball internationals Tom Banton and Ben Duckett.

“I am delighted to be staying at Welsh Hearth and I am actually trying ahead to representing the group this summer time,” Bairstow mentioned. “Ben and Tom are each glorious gamers and we have the makings of a extremely robust line-up.”

Malan, ranked the ICC’s No. 1 T20I batsman, has opted to stick with Trent Rockets on a deal elevated after initially being drafted within the sixth of seven wage bands, whereas Roy will play on his county house floor with Oval Invincibles.

“I used to be actually happy when Trent Rockets picked me within the males’s draft and it was a no brainer to stick with the aspect,” Malan mentioned. “We have a extremely thrilling mixture of native expertise and abroad stars and we’ll be aiming to deliver the trophy to Trent Bridge.”

Within the girls’s competitors, South Africa’s Lee and du Preez have signed for Manchester Originals, Kapp stays at Oval Invincibles, and their compatriot Chloe Tryon will end up for Lord’s-based London Spirit.

“I’ve acquired some improbable recollections of taking part in in England each internationally and within the Kia Tremendous League and I can not wait to participate within the Hundred later this 12 months for Manchester Originals,” Lee mentioned. “It is actually thrilling to be taking part in in a brand new competitors and I feel it is an incredible alternative to proceed to develop the ladies’s sport.”

Kapp added: “The Kia Oval is a improbable place to play cricket and I am actually trying ahead to taking part in for Oval Invincibles there. We have an incredible group of gamers and I am hoping we will go all the best way within the competitors.”

Different notable retentions embrace England spinner Kirstie Gordon remaining with Birmingham Phoenix, Narine staying at Oval Invincibles, and Amir and Mohammad Nabi sticking with London Spirit.

Birmingham Phoenix: Emily Arlott, Kirstie Gordon, Tom Helm, Benny Howell, Phoebe Franklin, Abtaha Maqsood

London Spirit: Mohammad Amir, Amara Carr, Aylish Cranstone, Jade Dernbach, Danielle Gibson, Mohammad Nabi, Luis Reece, Adam Rossington, Susie Rowe, Chloe Tryon

Manchester Originals: Joe Clarke, Danielle Collins, Mignon du Preez, Alice Dyson, Cordelia Griffith, Hannah Jones, Lizelle Lee, Phil Salt

Northern Superchargers: Helen Fenby, Bess Heath, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Adam Lyth

Oval Invincibles: Megan Belt, Alex Blake, Eva Grey, Marizanne Kapp, Sunil Narine, Jason Roy, Rhianna Southby, Nathan Sowter

Southern Courageous: Lauren Bell, Alex Davies, Sonia Odedra, Max Waller

Trent Rockets: Kathryn Bryce, Matthew Carter, Abbey Freeborn, Dawid Malan, Tom Moores, Steven Mullaney

Welsh Hearth: Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Ben Duckett, Alex Griffiths, Georgia Hennessy, Lauren Filer, Sophie Luff, Natasha Wraith

Source link

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button