Current Match Report – South Africa vs Pakistan 1st Check 2020/21


Pakistan, in the meantime, had been led out by Babar Azam for the primary time on this format

South Africa selected to bat vs Pakistan

South Africa gained the toss in Karachi and elected to bat first. On a sunny day in Karachi, the venue the place South Africa final beat Pakistan in a Check match 14 years in the past, the captain Quinton de Kock mentioned the plan for South Africa concerned placing runs on the board with a need to keep away from batting within the fourth innings.

Having watched Pakistan embody a quartet of spinners within the 17-man squad, South Africa had been set to incorporate of trio themselves, solely to be thwarted by a late damage to Tabraiz Shamsi that noticed Lungi Ngidi play as an alternative. Even so, George Linde was drafted in for simply his second Check to companion Keshav Maharaj, with Ranada and Nortje the opposite tempo choices.

Pakistan, in the meantime, had been led out by Babar Azam for the primary time on this format. Managing a considerably new-look squad right here in Karachi, Babar admitted Pakistan deliberate to bat first, too, however insisted their sport plan did not hinge upon it. They handed debuts to 2 gamers, Imran Butt on the prime of the order and spinner Nauman Ali, whereas Hasan Ali made a much-awaited return to the worldwide facet. Pakistan haven’t misplaced a Check at dwelling since that defeat in Karachi 14 years in the past.

Pakistan: 1. Abid Ali 2. Imran Butt (debut) 3. Azhar Ali 4. Babar Azam (capt) 5. Fawad Alam 6. Mohammad Rizwan (wk) 7. Faheem Ashraf 8. Hasan Ali 9. Nouman Ali (debut) 10. Yasir Shah 11. Shaheen Afridi

South Africa: 1. Aiden Markram 2. Dean Elgar 3. Faf du Plessis 4. Rassie van der Dussen 5. Temba Bavuma 6. Quinton de Kock (capt, wk), 7. George Linde 8. Keshav Maharaj 9. Kagiso Rabada 10. Anrich Nortje 11. Lungi Ngidi

Danyal Rasool is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo. @Danny61000

Source link

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button