Peter Sagan makes sensational solo effort to win Giro d’Italia 2020 stage 10

Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) took a long-awaited first victory of the season on the Giro d’Italia, soloing to the win on stage 10 after going within the day’s breakaway.

The three-time world champion fought exhausting to be a part of the early break on a stage stuffed with steep climbing, and was left with simply Ben Swift (Ineos) for firm within the remaining 20km of the stage.

Sagan was in a position to drop the British champion on the ultimate climb of the day, which topped out with 11km to go, with the GC contenders respiration down his neck at simply 25 seconds behind.

He pushed out that hole on the treacherous remaining descent which was made all the more serious because of the rain that fell within the latter half of the stage.

With none of GC contenders’ groups in a position to take management of the remaining riders within the chase group regardless of simply being simply 20 seconds behind within the remaining 3km, Sagan was in a position to maintain his effort and take his first profession victory on the Giro.

João Almeida (Deceuninck-Fast-Step) prolonged his lead in pink as soon as once more after ending third on the stage to take 4 bonus seconds forward of the principle GC contenders that completed simply 23 seconds behind the stage winner.

Jakob Fuglsang (Astana) was the day’s greatest loser amongst the general hopefuls, dropping round 1-15 on the Almeida group.

Extra to observe…


Giro d’Italia 2020, stage 10: Lanciano to Tortoreto (177km)

1. Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe, in 4-01-56
2. Brandon McNulty (USA) UAE Staff Emirates, at 19s
3. João Almeida (Por) Deceuninck-Fast-Step, at 23s
4. Ben Swift (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers
5. Jai Hindley (Aus) Staff Sunweb
6. Rafał Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe
7. Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe
8. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Staff Sunweb
9. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) NTT Professional Biking
10. Pello Bilbao (Esp) Bahrain-McLaren, all at identical time


21. Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana, at 1-38

Basic classification after stage 10

1. João Almeida (Por) Deceuninck-Fast-Step, in 39-38-05
2. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Staff Sunweb, at 34 seconds
3. Pello Bilbao (Esp) Bahrain-McLaren, at 43s
4. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) NTT Professional Biking, at 57s
5. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita), Trek-Segafredo, at 1-01
6. Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe, at 1-15
7. Jai Hindley (Aus) Staff Sunweb, at 1-19
8. Rafał Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe, at 1-21
9. Fausto Masnada (Ita) Deceuninck-Fast-Step, at 1-36
10. Hermann Pernsteiner (Aut) Bahrain-McLaren, at 1-52


11. Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana, at 2-20

Source link

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button