McLaren will nonetheless swap to Mercedes engines in 2021

McLaren has confirmed it should nonetheless be switching to Mercedes engines for subsequent season regardless of Components One’s choice to delay the 2021 rule modifications.

Given the unprecedented circumstances of the coronavirus pandemic, F1 determined to delay the introduction of its new guidelines package deal for one more yr. The revamp was set to implement a radical redesign of F1 automobiles which the championship hopes are in a position to ship nearer racing and extra overtaking.

The wider ramifications of delaying F1’s 2021 rule change

The choice additionally included a freeze on any improvement of groups’ 2020 chassis for subsequent season, prompting hypothesis McLaren might need to delay its deliberate swap from Renault to Mercedes. The group has confirmed will probably be allowed to make the mandatory modifications to suit a brand new engine within the automotive for 2021.

“From the outset, we’ve got been a number one supporter of the brand new sporting and technical rules for 2021,” group boss Andreas Seidl mentioned. “They current the chance to ship an thrilling new period for Components One.

“However, there isn’t any escaping the severity of the pressures confronted by the game proper now. In the identical method that call to introduce the brand new rules was aimed toward enhancing the long-term well being of Components 1, the choice to postpone them has been made in the identical vein.

“We assist the postponement and have performed an energetic half within the dialog round doing so. We recognise that it’s essential to guard the monetary well being of all of the groups whereas making certain a stage enjoying subject once we do go racing.

“Moreover, this choice doesn’t influence our change to Mercedes energy models in 2021, and we shall be allowed to make the mandatory modifications to our automotive to accommodate this.”

McLaren has an important historical past with Mercedes and has not received a race or championship since that partnership ended. Between 1995 and 2014, McLaren received the constructors’ championship as soon as (1999) and the drivers’ championship 3 times (Mika Hakkinen in 1998 and 1999, Lewis Hamilton in 2008).

Source link

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button